Who Pricebeeper suits better than 42Signals
Shopify and WooCommerce retailers who want to reprice from competitor data
42Signals' pages describe monitoring, alerts, reports and raw data feeds, and don't describe setting your prices. Pricebeeper's Growth plan, $209 a month, turns competitor prices into rule-based suggestions and writes approved ones to your store; on Pro, $799, rules can apply changes on their own.
Online shops competing for Google Shopping clicks
Pricebeeper searches Google Shopping and Amazon for each product in 67 countries, from $39 a month for 500 products. The platforms 42Signals names are marketplaces, retailer sites and delivery apps such as Amazon, Walmart, Target, Flipkart and Blinkit.
Retailers with 500 to 3,000 products who want a price before a demo
Pricebeeper lists every price: 500 slots for $39 a month, 3,000 for $209. 42Signals asks for a quote, and its pricing page lists up to 200 SKUs among the features all plans include.
Brands that want MAP monitoring at a published price
Pricebeeper includes MAP monitoring on Growth, $209 a month for 3,000 slots, with violations grouped by seller and a hashed evidence snapshot. 42Signals sells MAP and seller alerts with screenshots, refreshed every few hours, by quote only.
Pricebeeper and 42Signals side by side
| What you get | Pricebeeper | 42Signals |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | Shops and brands tracking the other sellers of their products | Consumer brands watching their digital shelf |
| Price | Published: $39/mo for 500 slots and up; Free plan | Quote only; plans list up to 200 SKUs; free account, no card |
| Main sources | Google Shopping, Amazon, pinned competitor pages, eBay GTIN lookup, your bol.com and Kaufland accounts | Amazon, Walmart, Target, Best Buy, Instacart, DoorDash, Flipkart, quick-commerce apps; 250+ platforms claimed |
| Google Shopping | Yes, in 67 countries | Not stated |
| Refresh | Sellers found monthly; re-read weekly on Starter and Plus, daily on Growth+ (5 cheapest every 6 hours) | Prices every few hours; search rank daily; quick-commerce stock hourly |
| Local data | about 1,700 states and provinces | Pin-code and dark-store availability in quick commerce; 200+ zip codes monitored |
| Product matching | Barcode first, then brand and title; you confirm doubtful matches | AI matching with human review of edge cases |
| Buy Box and search rank | Not tracked | Buy Box holder per listing; organic and sponsored rank |
| MAP monitoring | Growth+, evidence snapshot with SHA-256 hash | MAP and unauthorized-seller alerts with screenshots |
| Repricing your store | Growth+, writes to Shopify and WooCommerce | Not stated |
| Ads | Google Shopping and Search ads, Ads Transparency, share of voice | Ad placements and share of search in quick-commerce apps |
| Reviews and sentiment | Not tracked | Voice of customer analytics |
| Alert channels | Email, in-app, Slack, signed webhooks | Telegram, email, dashboard; home page also lists Slack and SMS |
| Data access | API on every plan, CSV exports, MCP endpoint | Raw data by API or S3 for custom crawls |
Digital shelf analytics and competitor price monitoring
42Signals is a digital shelf analytics platform from PromptCloud, a web data company. It is built for consumer brands that sell through other people's stores. It watches how a brand's products are priced, stocked, ranked and reviewed on Amazon, Walmart, Target, Instacart and similar sites, and flags MAP breaches and unauthorized sellers. Its home page lists the scope: pricing, MAP, availability, Buy Box, search rank, competitor activity and review sentiment.
Pricebeeper starts from the other side of the counter. It is competitor price monitoring for shops and brands that want to know who else sells their products and at what price. It searches Google Shopping and Amazon for each product in your catalog, matches the sellers by barcode, and records their prices by country or state. On higher plans it turns that data into repricing suggestions for your own store.
The overlap is real: both track competitor prices, both alert on changes, and both police MAP. The difference is the question each answers. 42Signals asks how a brand looks on the shelves where it is sold. Pricebeeper asks what every other seller charges for the products you sell.
Which sites each one reads
42Signals' platforms page claims more than 250 platforms across 50 countries, from Mercado Libre and Allegro to Rakuten and Noon. Its North American pages name Amazon, Walmart, Target, Best Buy, Instacart and DoorDash. In India it covers Flipkart, Myntra and the quick-commerce apps Blinkit, Zepto and Swiggy Instamart, where it checks availability by pin code and dark store.
Pricebeeper reads fewer places, chosen for retailers. Its main source is Google Shopping, which includes Walmart and eBay sellers and independent shops that list there, plus Amazon, in 67 countries and about 1,700 states and provinces. You can add any competitor product page except Amazon's as a pinned competitor page, and connect your own bol.com or Kaufland seller account. Marketplaces and channels covers each source and its limits.
What you pay, and how you start
42Signals doesn't publish prices. Its pricing page asks for a quote and lists up to 200 SKUs among the features all plans include. Its quote form asks for a monthly budget, in brackets from less than $500 to above $5,000. It also offers a free account with no credit card, and a 30-minute demo that pulls live data for 3 of your SKUs.
Pricebeeper's prices are public. Starter covers 500 slots for $39 a month, Growth 3,000 slots for $209, and Pro 12,000 slots for $799. A slot is one product in one region, so 200 products tracked in two countries use 400 slots and fit in Starter. 3,000 products in one country fit in Growth. The pricing page shows every plan and slot pack. Pricebeeper's Free plan (50 slots, pinned pages only) and the 14-day Growth trial need no card either.
Refresh rates and alerts
42Signals says prices are refreshed every few hours, keyword rankings daily, and quick-commerce availability hourly by pin code. Alerts go to Telegram, email and its dashboard, and its home page also lists Slack and SMS. Price alerts can be limited to chosen products, competitors or retailers, with thresholds so that small moves don't fire.
Pricebeeper is much slower at finding new offers. It searches Google Shopping and Amazon for sellers once a month on paid plans, and Amazon offers and stores that block checks change only at that search. A new seller appears at the next monthly search unless you pin its page.
Between searches, Pricebeeper re-reads known sellers' own pages weekly on Starter and Plus, and daily on Growth and up, with the 5 cheapest offers and your pinned pages every 6 hours. Price alerts compare each seller's cheapest offer with that seller's last price, so one shop's change doesn't read as a market move. They go out by email, in the app, to Slack or to a signed webhook, and stock alerts fire when a competitor sells out or comes back.
MAP and seller policing
Both tools watch resellers. 42Signals tracks MAP breaches and unauthorized sellers across marketplaces, shows who holds the Amazon Buy Box on each listing, and attaches screenshot evidence to every MAP and seller alert for Brand Registry, legal or channel teams.
Pricebeeper's MAP monitoring, on Growth, Pro, Business and Custom, opens a violation only when an exact match or a seller on your list advertises below MAP, so a similar product can't trigger one. Each violation keeps a snapshot of the price, seller, URL and time with a SHA-256 hash, and reports group violations by seller and by region. It does not track the Buy Box.
Acting on the prices you see
This is where the two differ most. 42Signals' pages describe monitoring, alerts, dashboards and raw data by API or S3, and its home page says it doesn't run campaigns or manage bids. Pricebeeper's repricing, from Growth, suggests prices from rules such as match the lowest, beat the lowest by a percentage, or sit at the 25th percentile of the market, always inside your floor, ceiling and maximum change. You approve them, and approved prices are written to Shopify or WooCommerce. On Pro and up, a rule can apply its own changes within a daily cap.
On ads they cover different ground. 42Signals tracks sponsored placements and share of search inside quick-commerce apps. Pricebeeper's competitor ad monitoring flags Google Shopping ads in every monthly search, watches Google Search ads for chosen products, and pulls each competitor's Ads Transparency activity once a month.
Using one, or both
A brand that sells through big-box retailers and also runs its own Shopify store could use both: 42Signals for the retailer shelves, Pricebeeper for the open market on Google Shopping and for repricing its own store. A retailer that sells only through its own site mainly needs to know what rival shops charge, which is Pricebeeper's job. Start on the Free plan with 50 products to see what it finds for your catalog.
When 42Signals may suit you better
Brands selling through Walmart, Target, Instacart or DoorDash
42Signals tracks those retailer sites and delivery apps as platforms in their own right, with price, stock and search rank. Pricebeeper sees a retailer's offers only when it lists on Google Shopping, or when you pin a product page it can read.
Brands in Indian quick commerce
42Signals covers Blinkit, Zepto and Swiggy Instamart, with availability checked hourly by pin code and dark store, plus ad placements in those apps. Pricebeeper does not cover quick-commerce apps.
Amazon brands that need fresh prices, the Buy Box and search rank
42Signals refreshes prices every few hours, shows which seller holds the Amazon Buy Box on each listing and tracks organic and sponsored rank daily for your keywords. Pricebeeper never reads Amazon pages, so its Amazon prices change only at its monthly search, and it does not track the Buy Box or search rank.
Teams that want screenshots and review sentiment
42Signals attaches screenshot evidence to MAP and seller alerts and analyzes reviews for sentiment. Pricebeeper's MAP evidence is a hashed data snapshot, and it does not analyze reviews.
Questions people ask
How much does 42Signals cost?
42Signals doesn't publish prices; its pricing page asks for a quote. The page lists up to 200 SKUs among the features all plans include, and its quote form asks for a monthly budget from under $500 to over $5,000. A free account without a card is available. Pricebeeper's plans are public, from $39 a month for 500 slots.
Is 42Signals a price monitoring tool or a digital shelf tool?
Mostly a digital shelf tool. It monitors a brand's prices, MAP compliance, stock, Buy Box, search rank and reviews on marketplaces and retailer sites, and it does send price alerts on competitors. Pricebeeper focuses on the other sellers of your catalog on Google Shopping and Amazon, with repricing for your own store.
Does Pricebeeper track Walmart and Target like 42Signals?
Partly. Walmart sellers that list on Google Shopping appear in Pricebeeper's search data. You can also pin a product page on any site except Amazon; Pricebeeper reads it when the site's robots.txt allows it and the page carries structured price data. 42Signals tracks Walmart, Target, Instacart and DoorDash as platforms in their own right, including stock.
Can Pricebeeper track the Amazon Buy Box?
No. Pricebeeper records Amazon prices from its monthly search and seller data, and tracks the sellers of a matched ASIN, but it doesn't report who holds the Buy Box or reprice Amazon listings. 42Signals shows the Buy Box holder per listing. To reprice on Amazon itself, you need an Amazon repricer.
Does 42Signals change my prices automatically?
Its pages don't say so. 42Signals describes monitoring, alerts, reports and raw data delivery. Pricebeeper's repricing, from Growth at $209 a month, suggests prices from your rules and writes approved ones to Shopify or WooCommerce. On Pro and up, approved rules can apply changes on their own within a daily cap.
Sources
42Signals details come from its own public pages, checked on . Vendors change prices and features; if something here is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.
Other comparisons
- 01Pricebeeper vs DataWeaveDataWeave tracks prices by store, ZIP code, app and delivery platform. Pricebeeper tracks online sellers by state.
- 02Pricebeeper vs Intelligence NodeIntelligence Node starts at $5,000 a month on a one-year term. Pricebeeper starts at $39, month to month.
- 03Pricebeeper vs SkuuudleSkuuudle sells managed price scraping from $10,000 a year. Pricebeeper is self-serve software from $39 a month.
- 04Pricebeeper vs WiserWiser updates prices as often as every 15 minutes for large retailers and brands. Pricebeeper is self-serve from $39.
Features mentioned here
- 01Competitor price monitoringFind the sellers of your products on Google Shopping and Amazon, and track their prices by region.
- 02Marketplaces and channelsGoogle Shopping, Amazon and competitor sites, plus eBay, bol.com, Kaufland and MCP sources you connect yourself.
- 03MAP monitoringFind resellers advertising below your minimum advertised price, with a hashed record of what was seen.
- 04RepricingRules turn competitor prices into suggested prices within your limits; you approve, and your store is updated.
- 05Competitor ad monitoringSee which competitors pay to advertise the products you sell, on Google Shopping and Google Search.
- 06Price and sale alertsAn alert when a competitor cuts or raises a price, starts a sale, or reaches the target price you set.